New year’s Postcard.

Do you know “Nenga-Jyo”? It is one of Japanese traditional postcards sent among friends and families each other on the first days in January. It has the meaning as the celebration for coming of New year.

But the numbers of it has been decreasing since several decades ago; because it takes a lot of time in December, though many people are usually busy in this month. And still more,  it must be mentioned to be generalized to use e-mail with handy-phones or computers. To send e-mail to friends or families become to be regarded as the greeting of New year instead of sending “Nenga-Jyo”.

But I send it to the colleagues, friends and my girl friend this year. To send it to colleagues may be able to be regarded as a duty; It may be one of work, you know, it’s strange, but communication besides it in each workplace is often regarded important in Japan. I don’t know the reason because I think by no means colleagues as my friends!

I made it by myself with computer this year. There are many postcards which can be used as “Nenga-Jyo” at a store, but they are very expensive so that I don’t want to buy them. And furthermore, It is seldom that we can find our favorite ones.
To make it is very easy if only we can use a software produced by Microsoft, “Microsoft Word”. It is very useful and easy to use when we want to make postcards. I’ll show it after the New year’s Day is come on this blog, but I can tell that I made it with only the software except illustrations of a couple of rabbits drawn on it. I think that Microsoft Word is one of the most excellent softwares in the world. On the other hand, two rabbit were drawn with Adobe Illustrator. I can’t still use it enough to make various illustrations with its functions now, but I understand that it is also an excellent program among various different softwares.

Only to print postcards out with printer and to post off them is regarded very impolite. Such a card should be written something by hand. It shows the politeness of each sender, many Japanese think so. I don’t think so at all, but I don’t want to be regarded rude by someone though I sent a postcard to him/her, therefore I also wrote something on each postcard.

Many foreign people think that there are many mysterious traditional customs in Japan, but even Japanese can’t sometimes understand why the custom remains to exist. To think about them perhaps comes to nothing after all, so Japanese continues to obey these customs without thinking anything about them.

Thank you for your visit here today.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

