Baking : Pain de Campagne vol.2

I made a pre-fermented dough with a little dried yeast, water and flour about 5 days ago. But I wasn’t so fine that I didn’t bake breads after that with it. Keeping it in refrigerator too long makes the dough worse, so that I made up my mind to bake bread. Yesterday morning I prepared the ingredients and kneed them for several seconds, and let the dough ferment at 11 degrees Celsius about for 20 hours.

After first fermentation, I take the dough from a container out on the table. It was kneed so shortly that it had to be treated as gently as possible. After shaping it roundly once, I kept it untouched for 20 minutes.  And I shaped it roundly again, put it in the basket to ferment.

During the final fermentation, I preheated oven at 300 degrees. After about 45 minutes has passed away since the final fermentation was started, I take the pre-heated plate from oven and put the dough on it. Cutting the surface of the dough with a knife, and baking was started; At first baking it at 250 degrees Celsius for 10 minutes, and furthermore I remained baking it at 230 degrees Celsius for 20 minutes. As soon as baking was over, I took the bread outside soon and let it cool.

This is the picture of the bread.

Pain de Campagne

When the dough was put on the pre-heated plate before baked, it became very flat. I thought that the bread was a failed one and it couldn’t be eaten well. I have some things to be thought as the cause, for example, to keep the pre-fermented dough in refrigerator too long, to knee the ingredients too shortly, and so on. But as a result, the dough became good bread. It made me glad very much.

Thank you for your visit here today.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

